Podcast Responses

I want to give a brief shout out to everyone who commented on my podcast – I was so shocked and honored by all the positive feedback I got back. I had a lot of fun making it, and I’m glad so many of you enjoyed listening to it! Your kind words meant a lot. If you want the list of songs that I used (and didn’t get to use because of time constraints), one of the posts on my final project has all of the names. Thanks again for your comments, I really appreciated them!

The first podcast I listened to was Ali’s, about her hometown Ocean City. I really enjoyed it, I thought it was an excellent little love letter to the place she grew up. Although I’ve lived in New Jersey most of my life, I’ve always lived in the suburbs, so her podcast was a really cool glimpse into what a shore town would be like. Surfing has always intrigued me too, so it was entertaining and interesting to hear about that. The background sounds were fun, and I liked the use of other people’s commentary on waves and lingo and such. Nice job!

Another podcast I listened to was Gabby’s podcast. I thought it was really well done because it kept the listener involved the entire time. There wasn’t a moment where my thoughts started to wonder, even though it was a thought-provoking topic. The community I grew up in is very open and supportive of gay rights, and many of my friends growing up had gay parents or were gay themselves, so the topic doesn’t make me uncomfortable by any means. What I did find interesting from her podcast is that she was very open to people asking her questions about her sexuality – sometimes, I think growing up in such an open, diverse community like the one I was raised in has it’s down falls, because we are taught to be comfortable and accepting of so many things but that comfortability can sometimes lead to silence. We don’t always push ourselves to discussion and question-asking because we’re terrified that we might come across as intolerant. I loved listening to Gabby’s podcast because it was so relaxed, and I think that’s an important approach to have when talking about subjects that not everyone is the most accepting towards. Too often, we come to the table to talk about sexuality or race or religion with a defensive attitude because we don’t want to seem judgmental, when if we’re honest with ourselves and each other, there is no need to be defensive at all. Gabby’s podcast reminded me of that, and I was really glad it did. I also found it really interesting the way she mentioned her sexuality as playing a role on her personality. After phrasing it like that, I can kind of see the same thing in my friends back home. The way she told her story was also really fun and humorous. I really liked it, she did a great job.

One of the last podcasts I listened to (though I listened to a lot because they all sounded so interesting) was Julia’s, on cyber bullying. The way she made it sound like a live news program, with interviews and everything, was clever and well done. I’m impressed. I also think the topic she chose is an incredibly important one, so I’m glad she covered it. I really liked the angle she took, because as I have gotten older it has become incredibly more clear how large a role our parents play in our development and personalities. A lot of the stories we read and watch when we grow up are centered around kids and their actions – and their personalities are so often isolated from those of their parents. But there is so much of our parents in how we interact with other people, because they are our greatest teachers. I think it’s really important to crack down on the parents of these children who are cyber bullying, because their influence or absence is largely connected to the actions of their children. I liked this podcast a lot, and I hope it inspires further discussion. Nice job!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized on by .

About mjpwoodruff

My biggest dilemma throughout life has probably been figuring out what I’m most interested in out of all the things I’ve ever come across and thought was worth a second glance. I have lists on my phone for all the books I haven’t bought and want to read, all the music I’ve tagged and want to listen to, all the fleeting thoughts I’ve had that could lead to an interesting topic for further daydreaming, etc. I probably visit thesaurus.com as often as I visit social media sites. A short list of things I’ve considered majoring in: film, poetry, neuroscience, composing, screenwriting, anthropology, biology, history, journalism, sociology, forensic science, political science. The only thing I’ve found in common with all of these things so far is that they all relate to humans, how they work, and how they interact. I love bees, morning drives into New York City, and ultimate frisbee. I also sell Girl Scout cookies, if you’re into that. - Maggie Woodruff

Leave a Reply

