View change on WordPress

From making a blog and adding to it every now and then, I am learning a lot more about WordPress. I never realized how much you could do with this blogging site until I was assigned this project. After working with WordPress for almost a full semester now, I thought I knew quite a lot about the site. As I started to look in greater detail on how to create my own blog, I have been realizing that there is a lot more than meets the eye. Navigating through this project is a bit time consuming but I will admit that it is very entertaining as well. Luckily, we were assigned this project pretty far in advance which gives us a decent amount of time to work on it gradually.

Another thing I have been discovering with this final project is that many people use WordPress as a sort of hobby. When creating my blog and tagging certain posts, I have been receiving comments and likes on them which allows me to see other people’s blogs. After a bit of snooping on other people’s blogs, I noticed that there are many individuals who use it frequently and partake in activities for it even in the outside world. (not just the cyber world). For example, one woman who followed my blog has her blog dedicated to healthy recipes and workout tips to go along with it. When looking at her blog, it was clear to me that she made daily posts and cooked and took pictures to add to the display of her blog. All of the meals she prepared for her blog all contributed to this one social media site.
In my opinion, I believe that social media sites like WordPress, Pinterest, etc. allow people with passions to post them on the web and receive feedback for doing things that they enjoy. In other words, blogging and social networking gives individual’s an excuse and a motive to go after what they want. Along with that, blogging permits feedback that could potentially motivate these bloggers into really pursuing their dreams.

Also, when I first took this course, I did not think too much of blogging. To be honest, I never would have expected that one could make a career out of blogging which now I know is definitely possible. To think that a comment you make on someone’s blog could lead them to becoming the next master chef or the next fitness star is pretty inspiring and goes to show that technology today is a lot more powerful than most people would like to admit.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized on by .

About joellerae

My name is Joelle Altomare! I am currently attending Rutgers University, class of 2016, and I am a cell biology and neuroscience major. I have a twin sister and my favorite thing to do in my free time is surf. The purpose of this blog is to motivate people and show them that nothing is impossible. With determination comes greatness and if you work hard towards your goals, you will achieve them.

Leave a Reply

