This Class

I know that many people have posted about this class in the past, and hell I may have even commented/posted on it before also.  However, I am now at a point in the class that I feel I am comfortable with what I am learning and how the class operates.  Like I’ve said in the past, I was extremely hesitant to stay enrolled in this class when I found out it dealt with a lot of technological things and online work.  I really enjoy Prof. Bielecki, and I’ve had him before so I thought I might as well stick it out and give the class a try, even though the topic is not my cup of tea.  After the first few classes, I found myself becoming frustrated with these blog posts, the blog comments, and even using imovie.  I did not like that I was unfamiliar with these things, and I wasn’t willing to try them out and explore them, which made it harder for me to learn how to use them efficiently.  I remember calling my brother frantically one night about imovie and how I couldn’t figure it out, and he told me that I needed to be patient and explore imovie before I actually went ahead and tried to complete my entire video essay in one sitting.  I decided to sit down and think about what we had learned in class and the info sheets that were posted on wordpress about using imovie.  I then played around with it and was able to get myself on track and less frustrated with using it.  Same thing goes for using wordpress.  I can honestly say, it wasnt that I did not enjoy blogging, it was more so that I was confused with how to work the blog, how to post my own post and how to comment.  After just taking some time to simply explore the website I became much more comfortable using it.  Shocking, or not haha, same thing goes for audacity.  When I first tried recording my podcast I became very short fused and frustrated because it wasnt going my way and thing were not coming out how I wanted them to.  After patiently taking the time to read through the audacity notes and play around with it, I am able to work confidently in audacity and I am happy with myself for doing so.

Overall, I am really happy that I stuck with this work.  I went from being someone who would never think to use imovie or audacity, to someone who is looking for every opportunity to use either of these two programs.  I am sure the same will happen with wordpress, once I get my blog up and running.  I am eager to work on my blog, and test the waters with wordpress!  I think it is going to be really fun and great to learn being that blogging is so apparent in today’s society!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized on by .

About jscillitani

My name is Jenna. I am a student at Rutgers University. My major is Public Health, and I am in a BS/MPH Program for a Masters in Public Health with a concentration in Health Education and Behavioral Sciences. In my free time, I really enjoy working on DIY (Do-it Yourself) projects and crafting.

One thought on “This Class

  1. sm1544

    I couldn’t agree more! The things the frustrated me the most at the beginning of this class is how much I did not know how to use wordpress or just how to operate the whole thing. It need exploring and patients. However, I think by the 3rd week I was pretty okay with the blogging and commenting thing because I figured that we need to explore now and know more about things we don’t know because I can’t imagine myself in the future like mom unable to use technology.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

