The exact reason why I am afraid of online banking and purchases….

I know that horror stories about robberies and money happen all the time, however for some reason online banking and fraud pertaining to it always has me worried about my money and bank account.  After reading this article, http://www.nbcnews.com/technology/6-arrested-45-million-global-atm-bank-cyberheist-2D11617858 , I continue to worry about online theft and fraud.  It really worries me that hackers can hack into my online banking at any time and rob me from all of my money.  I even worry when I make online purchases, whether I store my credit card information in the browser or not.  I never really store my information in the browser anymore, because my parents have advised me not to.  However, it worries me that the wrong hands could get my information simply by acquiring it through a transaction and hacking into a website or account.

As this article mentions, cybercrime is rather apparent and it worries me that a lot more people than we think can be doing this.  I am extremely paranoid about my money, as I am sure most people are, and I am constantly checking my accounts, and double checking my balances.  It is mindblowing to me that these people were getting away with stealing money, and big amounts if it.  It is only fair that they are now caught, however it just gets my mind wondering about all the other cybercrimes that take place out there, no matter how big or small, they are all crimes, and I worry that they go unnoticed.  However, maybe with things like this happening more and more frequently, the hackers themselves will be easier to track down and catch.  I really do not know anything about hacking, so I could be totally wrong, I just hope evil people do not continue to get away with stealing from others.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized on by .

About jscillitani

My name is Jenna. I am a student at Rutgers University. My major is Public Health, and I am in a BS/MPH Program for a Masters in Public Health with a concentration in Health Education and Behavioral Sciences. In my free time, I really enjoy working on DIY (Do-it Yourself) projects and crafting.

2 thoughts on “The exact reason why I am afraid of online banking and purchases….

  1. rebeccalee0927

    wow this scared me haha i buy everything online i hate going to the mall and buying stuff. i should be more careful about where i buy my stuff now. i mean websites always guarantee my protection, but i guess they cant alway protect everyone from hackers. this world is so scary now

    Reply
  2. alistever

    I have the exact same fear. I’m often checking balances and my account activity to make sure the transactions that come up are ones that I personally made. My fear was in fact heightened when I was in business forum the other day. My teacher told us that when we use Wi-Fi, our activities can be seen by anyone who can easily access the internal workings of a public network. This makes me super conscious of what I’m doing, and what connection I’m doing it on. It just saddens me that people have to be more paranoid about the internet today because the internet was invented to help people, not hurt them.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

