Thanksgiving Break, A time To Reconnect

Thanksgiving break is in a week I believe. 

I say, let’s all take this oppertunity to set aside our electronics and digital lives for a few days, and really genuinely connect with those family members and friends that surround us. 

It’s been a while since I can say that I’ve been to family holiday gatherings without my phone and social medias. The last Christmas or Thanksgiving that I participated in family events without the use of electronics was 2005, fifth grade. This was before I had a Myspace, a Cell phone, and AIM.  This was the last Christmas that I spent genuine and focused energy on real people, and the events going on around me in real time. I forget what that even feels like! 

I say, this holiday, we all go home and whether its for a day or the entire week, set aside your phones, don’t interact over the computer, and be with the people who really matter to you. 

Take this time to show your parents and grandparents the young adult that you’ve blossmed into. Talk about your classes, what your learning, what your writing about, new friends you’ve made, clubs you’ve joined, jobs you’ve become involved in. 

Also, take this time to look around at all of those who are consumed by their digital world. See how many conversations may diminish because of the interruptions of texts and notifications. Look around at time wasted by those consumed in their social networks. Try and take notice to the amount of time people spend faking experiences just so they can upload it to instagram. 

*OMG THANKSGIVING SELFIE IN MY CUTE DRESS THAT HAS FALL COLORS* -“WAT FILTAH SHOULD I LIKE, USE?”

*EHMAGAWD LOOK AT ALL DA FOOD ON MY PUHLATE THAT IM ALLOWING TO GET COLD WHILE I TAKE 700 PICTURES MOVING THE MASHED POTATERS CLOSER TO DA TURKAY WITH MY GRAVY VOLCANO THAT LOOKS GOOD* -“WAT FILTAH SHOULD I LIKE, USE?”

ME: “Idk but i’m gunna eat the food off your plate if you dont stop taking pictures”

 

Seriously, I’d really love to hear some of your experiences over Thanksgiving break as a blog post in 2 weeks. It might change the way you look at things. 

 

4 thoughts on “Thanksgiving Break, A time To Reconnect

  1. juliamoore3

    Your proposal is interesting, and humorous, but I think it is unlikely that our classmates will be willing to sacrifice a whole day, nevertheless, a whole weekend, without technology. Especially considering that we will be physically separated from our college friends for more than 24 hours, also technologically disconnecting from these friends is doubtful. (A few weeks ago I challenged out classmates to go a whole class period without texting or signing onto Facebook..my proposition received little support). Perhaps a more attainable goal for the upcoming break is to challenge yourself to turn off your cell phone at the Thanksgiving dinner table. For the duration of dinner, engage with your family members and show interest with eye contact and body language; not poking and retweeting. I absolutely hate when my younger sister keeps her phone out on the table during any regular family dinner; so, I will not hesitate to call her out for his during Thanksgiving dinner. Technology has made communication, in general, a less personable experience, but I think traditional communication practices (ya know, like talking, debating, story-telling, and laughing together) can be restored if a “tech-less” Thanksgiving dinner table is established.

    Reply
  2. Sarah Jaihe Lee

    HAHAHAH. That last part really got to me. I have to admit I am one of those people who post pictures of their food. You’re right. We should try getting off of our cellphones and actually communicate and socialize with our family members. It’s so hard but I will try.

    Reply
  3. stephaniewang2001

    As technology advances, people are becoming more addicted to it. Instagraming every thing in our daily life has become the norm of our society. And one of the biggest parts of our lives revolves around deliciously tasting (and looking) food, especially around the holidays where almost everyone can be found gorging themselves on turkey and cookies. I think it is a nice idea to ditch the technology around this time of year and spend quality time with our families, but I also agree with the above comments that this is going to be a hard thing to do. It isn’t impossible, however. I remember during Hurricane Sandy that we had no choice but to give up technology. Consequently, I remember having the best bonding times with my housemates while we were trapped indoors.

    Reply
  4. mjpwoodruff

    Your post was really funny, I appreciated that. I kind of agree with Julia though – I think it’d be really hard for people to completely put their phone away for the entire time. It’s not that difficult to set it down during dinner or during an event, but then there’s always the “lemme just check real quick while we’re in between things” rabbit hole and then we’re gone. Social media is soooo easy, that’s why it’s so addicting.
    Also, lots of my friends won’t be around during thanksgiving so I’ll want to keep in touch with them somehow.
    However, I will try it. Especially because I have a concussion and you’re not supposed to use your phone that much when you have one, because it’s hard on your eyes and I’ve noticed it does give me a headache (or aggravates my headache if I already have one, which is common). Kudos for the suggestion. I’ll post about it.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

