My Podcast

How is everyone coming along with their podcasts?  I am doing alright with mine.  I am still figuring out the effects and features of audacity but I think I am slowly getting the hang of the program.  At first I couldnt remember some of the basic things about audacity, even the things that we played around with in class, but after playing around with it for a little while before I got serious and started my podcast, I was able to familiarize myself with the program.   Right now I have about 6 minutes of my podcast recorded.  I have a script written out for the rest of it, however I have had a lot of ideas come in and out of my mind about the second half of my podcast and I am not ready to sit down and finish it yet.  I really need to think more about the structure and organization of it, and then figure out which approach I want to take in order to finish it.

For those of  you that have not started, or do not have a script (or some sort of ordered list) I would highly recommend you consider one.  At first I was not planning on having a script, in fact I barely even prepared a structure or layout to organize my ideas and thoughts about what I was going to be speaking about in the podcast.  I tried recording about my topic (which is sorority girl stereotypes), and it was a disaster.  I listened to what I had and it was so terribly organized and planned.  I then decided to write out a basic outline with bullet points about my main speaking points.  I did some research and found some clips that would fit into what I was trying to say, and worked them into my outline.  I then wrote out exactly what I wanted to say and the order I planned on saying it.  This helped me a lot when recording because I was able to stay on task and keep focused on the points that I was talking about, without straying way off subject or having awkward pauses between sentences.

My only issue that I am now having is with sound.  Some of the recordings that I recorded with my own voice are louder than the ones that I converted into mp3 from youtube.  I am unsure how to lower the volume of select segments.  I really hope that there is a way that I can do this, if not I am worried that my podcast’s volume will be very loud at certain points and significantly quieter during others.  If anybody has any suggestions about how to correct this volume issue I am having PLEASE let me know ASAP!!! I will appreciate it greatly!!!

Welp, hope all is going well for everyone else!  Good luck with everything, I am sure that everyone’s podcasts will be awesome!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized on by .

About jscillitani

My name is Jenna. I am a student at Rutgers University. My major is Public Health, and I am in a BS/MPH Program for a Masters in Public Health with a concentration in Health Education and Behavioral Sciences. In my free time, I really enjoy working on DIY (Do-it Yourself) projects and crafting.

Leave a Reply

