beauty in mathematics?

Since I havent been on Diigo for a while, I decided to see if there was anything new posted on our group site. Although it is not the most recent post, I randomly clicked on the “Imaginary Foundation” blogging page that one of my peers shared. While scrolling on this page, I found one piece in particular that really caught my attention. Although many of you probably would not pick out the same piece as me, I found “The Beauty of Mathematics in Everyday” to be really intriguing. Why did this piece in particular catch my attention? To be completely honest, I have been studying for a Calculus exam that I have this upcoming week and I guess I am trying to figure out the point of these types of math classes. Even though I have never had a real issue with mathematics courses, I cannot say that I ever enjoy studying or practicing Calculus problems. On a good note though, watching the video from this blog about why mathematics is important in everyday helped me to realize that math has some beauty to it.

math
At this point, I probably seem like I am going to unnecessary extremes when talking about a subject like math. If you take a minute or two like I did to really think about and see how important math is, maybe you will appreciate it even more. For example, the video I watched made me realize that without the invention and creation of different mathematics, we would not be able to turn on our lights, gamble with die, figure out the structure of snowflakes, use a magnifying glass, a compass, add sugar to our coffee, use computers, automatic doors, fly planes, etc. It is all of these things and many others that incorporate many types of math (algebra, trigonometry, etc.)
math2
Even though there are many people out there who would rather not think about math too much, it does not change the fact that it is clearly important. So, although it is a hassle to have to take math classes throughout our years of school, there truly is beauty in its existence.
math3

This entry was posted in Uncategorized on by .

About joellerae

My name is Joelle Altomare! I am currently attending Rutgers University, class of 2016, and I am a cell biology and neuroscience major. I have a twin sister and my favorite thing to do in my free time is surf. The purpose of this blog is to motivate people and show them that nothing is impossible. With determination comes greatness and if you work hard towards your goals, you will achieve them.

2 thoughts on “beauty in mathematics?

  1. kristinalisa08

    this is a really interesting post. people do not realize how much we need math and it is almost safe to say that it evolves as rapidly as technology does. math helps us in so many ways.

    Reply
    1. joellerae Post author

      I never looked at it that way. It’s very interesting to think that mathematics evolves as rapidly as technology does. Even though it seems like most things in math are set in stone, they are still subjected to be altered as time goes on (just like with technology)

      Reply

Leave a Reply

