What do you listen to??? (podcast help)

After letting my podcast idea stew, I think I’m getting a better idea of what specifically I want to focus on with the “Rutgers bus playlists”. However, I need to figure out what people actually listen to. I’m prepared to actually ask people on the buses what they’re listening to, but before I start awkward conversations and am trapped on a bus with people who I might have aggravated by interrupting their music time, I’d like a better sense of what people listen to, when they listen, and on what buses. I have a lot of classes on Douglass and College Ave, so I ride the F bus a lot and I figured it’d be a good starting place, but if you guys could provide me with some information I might get a better sense of where I could focus my attention and initiate the, “excuse me, I’m doing a project on what music people listen to on the bus and could you please tell me what song you’re currently listening to?” conversation.

So. Please feel free to comment (please please) with the following information:

a) what music you listen to on the bus (with specifics)

a.2) or if you don’t listen to music, why

b) what bus (route and time of day) you listen to music

c) what your friends would answer these questions with

d) any other thoughts you have on the music – does it affect your mood, do you feel weird when you don’t listen to music, are there times when you choose not to listen to music, etc.

 

THANK YOU

This entry was posted in Uncategorized on by .

About mjpwoodruff

My biggest dilemma throughout life has probably been figuring out what I’m most interested in out of all the things I’ve ever come across and thought was worth a second glance. I have lists on my phone for all the books I haven’t bought and want to read, all the music I’ve tagged and want to listen to, all the fleeting thoughts I’ve had that could lead to an interesting topic for further daydreaming, etc. I probably visit thesaurus.com as often as I visit social media sites. A short list of things I’ve considered majoring in: film, poetry, neuroscience, composing, screenwriting, anthropology, biology, history, journalism, sociology, forensic science, political science. The only thing I’ve found in common with all of these things so far is that they all relate to humans, how they work, and how they interact. I love bees, morning drives into New York City, and ultimate frisbee. I also sell Girl Scout cookies, if you’re into that. - Maggie Woodruff

2 thoughts on “What do you listen to??? (podcast help)

  1. eduvert1

    A. I am one of those weird people that just puts their phone on shuffle all the time, since I listen to different kinds of music. However, I have noticed that depending on what is going on with my day/where i’m going is when I have a specific playlist. If I have an exam or something stressful going on, I’ll play R&B music or something light like Acoustic to calm me down. When I’m angry, ill do some rock or hard rap to go with my mood. That’s also what I play when going to the gym to get me pumped (no judgements please lol). And on any other normal day it is probably any other kind of genre u can think of (except for scream-o or country, haha).

    B. this semester i take a lot of B, A, H, and LX buses (since that is where my classes are. But the one or two times I have ventured to Cook/Douglass I had shuffle playing then as well.

    C. My friends would probably use the same distinctions as far as situations go, but their music genres will be different.

    D. It definitely does affect my mood, that is what I am using it for. Besides the tuning out of stupid people.

    Reply
  2. GabbyG

    A) Depends on my mood and the time of day. If it’s the early morning I’m normally listening to indie, alternative pop, and the like. This past week I listened the “An Awesome Wave” album by Alt-J almost every morning because there was just something about the cold that made me crave it. In the afternoons and at night I tend to listen to more electronic music through the Tiesto Club Life podcast and the Hardwell On Air podcast.
    A2) A lot of times I’ll opt out of listening to music (probably 1.5-2/4 days I have class) and it’s mostly just because I want I forgot to take out my headphones before I got onto the bus and I’m too lazy to take them out. It doesn’t bother me though, there are always interesting conversations to eavesdrop on lol
    B) Whenever I take the EE at like 6 it’s guaranteed I’m listening to Hardwell.
    C) I think they’d answer the same except with less indie/alternative and more rock and rap.
    D) I 100% think it affects your mood but at the same time you only listen to certain music when you’re in a certain mood. It’s weird but there is definitely a relationship between music and mood.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

