Veteran’s Day

Happy Veteran’s Day! Thank you to all those who have served, are still serving, and who will serve. All day I’ve seen so many statuses and posts about Veteran’s Day and it made me happy that people are recognizing our veterans. However I was still a little upset that the number of posts were much less than what would have been if Miley Cyrus did something crazy or something else happened in the celebrity world. Let us not forget we are here because of our Veterans and even the celebrities are here because of our veterans. Even though you didnt make a status or anything, I hope you are thanking all those that have served for us in your heart sincerely. They definitely do not receive enough recognition as much as they should for what they have done for us. Thank you thank you and thank you!

2 thoughts on “Veteran’s Day

  1. jscillitani

    Your post was very thoughtful and nice to read. I found myself thinking about the veterans a lot yesterday, along with thanking every one that I came across. As we know, we had classes yesterday. However, I think it is somewhat disrespectful that a university would not give the day off for those students and professors who deserve to observe Veterans Day. I am not saying this so that I get a day off, in fact the only reason I am saying such a thing is because one of my professors is a veteran and he was sharing how he likes to attend services on Veterans Day, but it is very hard to do due to having to teach classes so that the students don’t become off schedule or fall behind. If universities made it a day for everyone to have off and observe, I think this would be extremely generous for those who did serve. I feel that Veterans Day is a very special day and it is rather unfortunate and upsetting that some people tend to forget about it.

    Reply
  2. dcho95

    I love this post! I also feel that veterans who served in countless wars don’t get enough recognition. Yes, it’s nice to see people posting pictures of American flags on social media, but I don’t think many people take the time to actually think about what these heroes did for our country. I also felt that while we put so much emphasis on other holidays (that are equally as important), we don’t see Veteran’s Day as a “legitimate” holiday, I guess because we don’t get a day off from school. It’s upsetting to see that the veterans aren’t getting as much attention as they deserve.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

