The Truth About Creative Writing

At the beginning of the semester, I was extremely happy to hear that in Creative Writing, we would not be submitting any formal papers, and that our grade would be based on projects based in different technologies. I was excited about this because although I’m not a terrible writer, I have extreme anxiety when it comes to writing them. So it wasn’t about avoiding the submissions of papers, it was the anxiety foregone but not having to submit them. But now that I have submitted my video essay and have begun working on my podcast, I realize that despite the fact that this class is not based on papers, I still write just as much as I would if we had to submit papers. For my video essay I included a lot of voiceovers, and in order to make them fluid and clear, I had to write a script as to what I was going to say. In addition to this, I also made a detailed outline much like a paper to organize what I wanted to cover in my essay and in what order. Moving on from the video essay, organizing the podcast emphasizes how much writing this course requires even more. I am writing a “script” (it’s more like an casually written paper) for my podcast so when I record, errors I make will be minimal. I have begun to edit the script just as I would a normal paper so that I can be as clear and concise as possible. Realizing this makes me appreciate different mediums of communication such as podcasts and blogs much more because in this class I realize its crucial to be not only a strong writer, but extremely aware of how your audience will react to not only words but images and sounds as well. I find that the editing process is much more complex; its no longer just about text and paragraph structure. Even though these projects can sometimes take more or less time than writing an formal paper, I find working on projects like the ones we create in Creative Writing much more enjoyable, and it doesn’t seem like work to me.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized on by .

About alistever

I'm currently a sophomore at Rutgers University looking to major in marketing. I'm on the field hockey team and spend a majority of my free time (when I'm not on the field or in the classroom) hanging out with my teammates. I love to online shop or more specifically browse and Pinterest is one of my favorite websites to visit.

One thought on “The Truth About Creative Writing

  1. miguelalex888

    I agree! “Creative Writing” seems like a weird to frame this class, but there certainly is a lot of writing involved and it certainly involves creative thought.
    This class is really good at expanding our understanding of what it means to translate a thought into a message…and considering what are the effective ways of delivering that message!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

