Anyone Else Remember AOL?

My first memory of the internet was America Online…aka AOL. I remember sitting at the computer with my older sister, both of us completely mesmerized the first time we heard the terrible screeching dial up tone, and waited for the screen to update as to what step it was on. Once connected, AOL was what I thought the internet was. To this day, whenever people talk about the beginning of the internet, I always think of this pivotal moment I shared with my sister. I remember only begin in 2nd grade when we got AOL and I though it was the greatest thing ever. All the different colors, the fact that you could instant message your friends and of course the longer your buddy list, the cooler you were. In addition to the first real “text messages” and instant messages, AOL provided me with my first experience of email. Although it sounds cheesy, but AOL really played a huge role in introducing technology and the internet into my life. So when I went on to the New York Times and read that AOL isn’t doing so great, my heart sank a little. Although I no longer use my AOL email (it mysteriously disappeared one day, along with my Facebook and Twitter account), I actually felt sorry that AOL was losing profits because I really believe that they were one of the pioneers of email and instant messaging. I guess it just shows that when it comes to technology, if you aren’t constantly changing and evolving as technology users’ tastes and preferences shift, you’re going to be left behind.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized on by .

About alistever

I'm currently a sophomore at Rutgers University looking to major in marketing. I'm on the field hockey team and spend a majority of my free time (when I'm not on the field or in the classroom) hanging out with my teammates. I love to online shop or more specifically browse and Pinterest is one of my favorite websites to visit.

4 thoughts on “Anyone Else Remember AOL?

  1. eduvert1

    I remember that feeling too! AOL really was one of the firsts for all of us to use, I even kept up with my email account until I started to get strange looks from people when they asked me what my email address was ( I don’t think they took me seriously with that one-it was one of those crazy ones that everyone made when they were younger that had a lot of numbers and weird words in it…). But I guess they just failed to keep up with the times..

    Reply
  2. juliamoore3

    AOL was also my first online experience. When I was young, my Grandma was the first person I knew who owned a personal desktop computer. She was the “cool Grandma” and was certainly ahead of her time, and my parents generation! Whenever my sister and I visited Grandma was always wanted to play with the computer. We never played video games on the computer but just watching my Grandma navigate through her e-mail was entertaining. I am sure that if my Grandma was still with us today she would have more apps on her iPhone than I do.

    Reply
  3. angiewishes

    I’m not that familiar with AOL, but I know I used AIM a lot. It’s actually the first instant messaging program that I used (Fun fact: embarrassing childhood screen names — pppyangela). AIM really made my typing speed and accuracy improve and it’s the first thing that introduced me to a “social network” type of thing. You know you’re a 90s kid when your parents needed you to stop IM-ing your friends so they could use the phone. I’m sorry to hear that AOL isn’t doing so well, but I suppose that this also shows that technology and its consumers are continually changing.

    Reply
  4. kristinalisa08

    AOL used to be favorite. especially when AIM came out. i think that was pretty the foundation to our childhoods as far as technology was concerned. it makes me kind of sad that these things change so quickly. i feel like there is something new out every month and sometimes i am not ready to leave behind what I’m currently interested in.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

