Advertisement and the internet.

So Instagram rolled out sponsored posts into all of our feeds.

"WHY ARENT YOU PAYING THE MILLIONS OF DOLLARS IT TAKES TO RUN THIS SITE OUT OF YOUR OWN POCKET?"-instagram users to instagram.

“WHY ARENT YOU PAYING THE MILLIONS OF DOLLARS IT TAKES TO RUN THIS SITE OUT OF YOUR OWN POCKET?”-instagram users to instagram.

Thoughts? Feelings?

Frankly, I’m completely fine with advertising. Why? Because these sites with millions of users processing an unthinkable amount of information…they aren’t cheap to keep up. Not at all.

There are servers to buy and maintain.

Coders and engineers to hire.

And so on.

I think it is ridiculous that so many complain when an otherwise free service starts putting advertisements. It’s like your expecting them to give you an amazing service for free, like you are somehow inherently entitled to it. No.

I think it’s completely fair for instagram, youtube, and pandora to put up advertisements. It’s a great system! We get our content, we get some ads, the companies pay the service providers for showing the ads, the service providers continue giving us our content.

I don’t see how anybody is getting screwed over in such arrangement…

PS. Youtube would be dead right now if it hadn’t started showing advertisements, and television too.

2 thoughts on “Advertisement and the internet.

  1. quinncmckay

    It was definitely only a matter of time until Instagram started showing advertisements like all of the other social media outlets. Honestly its a means to an end and I can’t complain.

    Reply
  2. juliamoore3

    I have not yet experience adds on Instagram, but this is probably because I rarely update my apps until the app forces me to. The way you put it, advertisements really don’t seem too bad. You’re right, why should we be entitled to this free service? If anyone really has a problem with the advertisements they have the freedom to stop using the app. I am pretty much used to being bombarded by advertisements. Every time I check my inbox e-bay has suggested a new product that I should buy, and every time I walk down College Ave I am asked if I want to save kids with cancer (yeah I would love to save kids with cancer, but no I do not want to donate $1 every time I walk to and from class). I have become so accustomed to ignoring advertisements that they no longer phase me. I do not anticipate advertisements to drastically alter my user experience.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

