“When ‘Googling it’ isn’t enough: Search engine offers video chats with human experts”

Google is launching a new service that allows consumers to pay for live video chats with experts who can provide them with all types of information.  After reading this article : When ‘Googling it’ isn’t enough: Search engine offers video chats with human experts ,  I started to think about the pros and cons of this new service.  I think that this would be somewhat similar to youtube, since many people view “how-to” videos and informational videos on youtube.  I guess there is a difference in that for the google service, the consumer would be paying to talk to a professional, whereas on youtube, the viewer isn’t guaranteed to view a professional, and nor is he/she able to ask personal questions that he/she may have about the video.

I think that this service does have a lot of potential.  I think it may get the ball rolling on virtual medicine, which is also a big deal.  What I mean by virtual medicine, is a doctors appointment over video chat to minimize access issues along with to make the patient less uncomfortable.  Obviously not everything can be done via video chat, however I feel that video chat is a way better option than just emailing or texting.  At least with video chat- you are conversing with another person.  It is similar to real life in that you are visible, and not hiding behind a screen.  I know that some people would probably find this whole thing bizarre and unnecessary, but I do think it has very good potential to be useful and beneficial.

I personally am always viewing “how -to” videos on youtube, and sometimes I do have questions that I would love to be able to ask the provider, but since it is just a recording, there is no conversing, and I am unable to ask my questions.  With a video chat, it is even easier to understand because you can ask all the questions you have and they would be answered by the professional.

The only reservation that I do have with this new service, is that I am uncertain about the amount of consumers who will be willing to pay for a service like this.  I know that as a poor college student, I am on a strict budget and I would most likely be unable to afford something like this no matter what the price.  I would save the money and watch as many free youtube videos as I need to in order to answer the questions that I have about whatever it is I am viewing.  I could be entirely wrong and maybe this type of service will be very profitable and high in demand, however right now I am not so sure about that.

Overall, I do think that this new service has a lot of potential and may become “the next big thing” for people in today’s society, especially those in the generations that are so technologically inclined!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized on by .

About jscillitani

My name is Jenna. I am a student at Rutgers University. My major is Public Health, and I am in a BS/MPH Program for a Masters in Public Health with a concentration in Health Education and Behavioral Sciences. In my free time, I really enjoy working on DIY (Do-it Yourself) projects and crafting.

One thought on ““When ‘Googling it’ isn’t enough: Search engine offers video chats with human experts”

  1. Sarah Jaihe Lee

    Wow, this is so cool. If it’s affordable, I think a lot of people would buy the service. However, I think search engines and youtube tutorials/how-to’s will be more popular in the end because it’s free. There’s no point in paying for something when you can get the same information online, just with more of an effort.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

