Internet Addiction?

In one of my Journalism classes, I recently watched a video on Internet addiction and it really spoke to me. It was about Internet addiction and the effects that spending too much time on the computer can have on kids. In the video, a study was done in South Korea and it showed that middle school students and high school students spend an incredible amount of time online, playing games. This caused their eyes to go bad, as well as their backs.

Now, I know that it would take a while to reduce the time spent on the Internet, but these kids have to go to a special kind of camp just to help them with their so-called “addiction.” Personally, I feel that the word “addiction” is correct, in these specific terms, because these kids don’t know anything other than gaming. For instance, there was one middle school boy in South Korea who went from the top half of his class to the bottom half of his class; after seeing this, his mother eventually decided to send him to the camp that focused on lost childhood activities such as playing outside and going camping.

After watching this, I got kind of scared. Is this the type of world that we want the next generation to grow up in? I’m the type of person who thinks and worries a lot about my own future. Seeing this, I got anxious because this isn’t what I would want my future children to go through. If anything, I’d want them to experience playing tag and hide-and-go-seek with their friends, just as I did when I was younger.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized on by .

About dcho95

I'm a freshman at Rutgers University-New Brunswick. I'm planning on double majoring in English and Journalism and my dream is to eventually work at the New York Times. I'm originally from Morris County in New Jersey and live with my parents, younger brother, and my dog. I love listening to music. I find music especially comforting in times of hardship, which is why I love collecting CDs. Instead of buying music off of iTunes, I find that it is more memorable to have the actual disc in my hand. Out of all the genres of music, I especially like listening to R&B because it tends to be more calming for me--it's a lot slower and more lullaby-like than, let's say, EDM (but I find any kind of genre very interesting).

One thought on “Internet Addiction?

  1. rebeccalee0927

    It really is sad when you see younger kids these days just playing games all day inside, when the weather is beautiful outside. I have a younger sister who is nine years old that would rather play inside on the computer rather than outside running around like what every child should do. At this time when I was her age, I was running around with my friends playing tag and hide and seek. What has this world come to? 😦

    Reply

Leave a Reply

