“Same Love”

Thanks for all the feedback on what I should do my project on! I’ve decided to do my podcast on the topic of sexuality. I think it’ll give me a chance to help raise awareness about the multiple effects being out or in the closet has on your identity. I’m thinking I’ll re-enforce certain ideas through the use of music. One song I definitely want to take snippets from is Angel Haze’s rendition of Macklemore’s “Same Love”. Since we’re not presenting these podcasts I think you should all give a listen to the song which I’ll link at the bottom.

I just want to draw attention to some of lyrics that are just so freaking powerful:

“locked away for two years to keep me on the inside
because she’d rather see a part of me die than me thrive
and it’s tougher when it’s something you can’t deny
and ignorance teaches us it’s something that you decide
you’re driven by your choice is an optical illusion
here’s to understanding that it’s not always confusion”

“No i’m not gay
No i’m not straight
And i sure as hell am not bisexual dammit
I am whoever I am when I am it
Loving whoever you are when the stars shine
And whoever you’ll be when the sun rise”

This is the version of Macklemore’s song that should be on the radio. Because the reality of the world is that 1 in 4 gay or lesbian teens are homeless because parents would rather kick their kids out on the street than see them be true to themselves. While yes, the gay rights movement is making huge strides, we’ve still got a long way to go.

Angel Haze – “Same Love” Freestyle 

Sources for that statistic:

LGBT youth – National Coalition for the Homeless

1 in 4 gay/lesbian high school students are homeless – EurekAlert!

One in four gay or lesbian high school students is homeless …

3 thoughts on ““Same Love”

  1. mjpwoodruff

    I like the idea of your podcast a lot, and the verses from that song are really powerful. Also, that statistic. Wow. That’s horrifying. Thanks for bringing that to my attention.

    Reply
  2. juliamoore3

    Great idea. Obviously there is there is a lot to say about your topic. Incorporating new music should capture the listeners attention. Here’s a you should do some research and see if you can find a poem that portrays your message. Either you could read the poem aloud or find an audio clip of it. Are you only going to focus on the inequalities that gays and lesbians experience or will you also include the recent improvements of the gay rights movement? Weather or not you choose to include the positive steps forward will strongly effect the meaning of your podcast.

    Reply
  3. dcho95

    I think this is an amazing topic to research for you final project! I think a lot of people can relate to this and understand that they’re not alone. Like you said, the lyrics are really powerful so I think focusing on the lyrics for the project would really do it a lot of justice! LGBT rights have come a long way, but seeing that last paragraph in your blog really shocked me. I strongly believe in loving people for who they are so I was pretty sad and disappointed when I read that parents would rather kick their own kids out. I think it’s time that people accept others not matter what they’re sexual orientation is.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

