SoundCloud, where have you been all my life?

SoundCloud

So as some of you may know, I’ve been looking forward to joining Greek Life next semester and so I’ve been going to some of the rush events that’s been going on this semester. In the past week, I went to Zeta Tau Alpha’s Meet the Sisters. There was the usual talk of what ZTA’s about and why the sister chose ZTA, but there’s only so much you can talk about along those lines. Anyway, we somehow landed in the topic of music and this sister happened to be a music blogger for the website www.fistintheair.com.

For those of you who are into EDM, check this website out for some sick music.

She talked about how she became involved with Krewella (yes, Krewella) before they became popular and helped them get their music out to the massive audience they have now. It made me realize how much blogging and the Internet has changed the music industry, especially in the world of raves and EDM. I’m on this website daily listening to music that these bloggers share and then sharing it with my friends and now with you. Because of the Internet, EDM has reached a world-wide audience at an exponential rate and perhaps it’s the reason for its sudden popularity. She also introduced me to SoundCloud where I was able to  follow some of my favorite DJs and keep up with their latest tracks and podcasts and share them with my followers as well. Within my first two reposts, I gained two followers and I can see how being active in blogging and interacting with the community could allow me to gain more followers and share music with people who are into the same things that I am. (I’m not very active so my posse of two is as big as it’s getting.)

I’m literally on SoundCloud every day learning the names of the DJs and the songs I’ve heard many times (since EDM doesn’t have obvious names like pop music), discovering new music, and sharing the music with other people. I’m so glad I don’t have to listen to the same 10 songs on the bus anymore because I’m constantly discovering and downloading both old and new tracks. If you any of you have SoundCloud, let me know! So excited to listen to what you guys are into.

XOXO A

2 thoughts on “SoundCloud, where have you been all my life?

  1. jscillitani

    Glad you came to the Meet the Sisters!! See there is always someone, somewhere, who you can have such a connection with about something as small as taste in music!!

    Reply
  2. laurenreesebenson

    I have to agree with you that soundcloud is a wonderful website for old, new and budding artists. I not only listen to live music from concerts like ULTRA, and EDC, but friends of mine who are starting to become involved with EDM music as well as Indie Rock have created soundcloud that allows me to listen to their newest stuff!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

