Did we ruin Kickstarter already?

If you didn’t already know, I’m a huge fan of the show Veronica Mars. It only aired for three seasons, which was a sad thing for all who were emotionally invested, ie everyone. However, I and other fans were ecstatic when it was announced that a kickstarter project was being created for a Veronica Mars movie. Kickstarter, if you didn’t know, is a really amazing website that allows people with cool projects and no money to make a pitch so other people might give them money in support of their project. It helps musicians, artists, entrepreneurs, etc. And it also helped Veronica Mars.

The shocking numbers

Now, many people were pleased with this. Namely, the fans and the actors and the writers and everyone who had loved the show. Other people were excited because the Veronica Mars Kickstarter project broke a bunch of records and proved that if fans really want something, they’ll fight for it. Joss Whedon, who’s show Firefly has a following similar to that of VM, became hopeful that other shows might find the success that VM did, which could change the way entertainment is distributed and created: instead of big companies deciding what gets made, the fans decide. However, some people were annoyed that Veronica Mars was so successful, because they believed that Kickstarter is supposed to be for those who need help breaking into the field and have no access to money (like independent film makers), and not for successful actors and writers who already have connections.

Please?

I’d like your opinion: do you think the success of the Veronica Mars Kickstarter project was beneficial or detrimental to the future of entertainment and Kickstarter?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized on by .

About mjpwoodruff

My biggest dilemma throughout life has probably been figuring out what I’m most interested in out of all the things I’ve ever come across and thought was worth a second glance. I have lists on my phone for all the books I haven’t bought and want to read, all the music I’ve tagged and want to listen to, all the fleeting thoughts I’ve had that could lead to an interesting topic for further daydreaming, etc. I probably visit thesaurus.com as often as I visit social media sites. A short list of things I’ve considered majoring in: film, poetry, neuroscience, composing, screenwriting, anthropology, biology, history, journalism, sociology, forensic science, political science. The only thing I’ve found in common with all of these things so far is that they all relate to humans, how they work, and how they interact. I love bees, morning drives into New York City, and ultimate frisbee. I also sell Girl Scout cookies, if you’re into that. - Maggie Woodruff

Leave a Reply

