The Voice

After having to endure iMovie to get through the video essay project I can say with certainty that I am very excited about this podcast project, even though I have no idea what I’m doing it on yet.

I keep seeing a lot of blog posts on here about people who don’t like their voices and I used to be one of those people as well. For those of you who aren’t in my section or for those of you that are but just haven’t heard me speak I have a much raspier and deeper voice than most other girls. I’ve had this voice my entire life. When I was younger, it was my voice that was made fun of the most (kids are cruel cruel beings) and so I grew up being very insecure about it, hating whenever someone would mention how different it sounds. I remember in the 7th grade though I had to pick up something my mom had dropped off at the front desk and the woman there commented on how beautiful my voice was. I genuinely think she was the first person to ever tell me that they sincerely liked my voice, I mean it obviously left a very large impression on me if I still remember it to this day.

Fast forward a few years and I’m pretty much completely over any insecurities I had about my voice. I love my voice, it’s unique, and honestly it defines and perfectly complements my personality. Having my own news segment in high school also really helped me because I had to get used to hearing my voice on every tv in the school almost every friday morning. I still get comments on my voice all the time, but nowadays I just take them with a grain of salt. The one comment that irks me to no end though is the “your voice is so raspy, I bet you’re an amazing singer” and  that is solely because I would absolutely love to be able to sing but unfortunately I cannot hold a single pitch for my life.

Unfortunately I can’t belt it out like the muses from Hercules, even though I try to anyway

Anyway, I guess what I’m trying to say is that honestly even if you hate your voice on a recording or just hate it in general there really is no point to. People are going to listen to you speak for the rest of your life, you’re going to have to record yourself sometimes, and so you might as well work it. I’m not saying you have to love your voice, but hey you don’t exactly have to hate it either.

Leave a Reply

