Do I Have A Life Outside Of Technology?

This past week, I have been taking my blog more seriously; staying up late to do research and think of new ideas. I realized blogging isn’t as easy as it seems. I always assumed bloggers would stay home all day and just type on their computers in their comfortable beds, and pajamas. However, I realized that is rarely the case. Blogging can be a full-time job. You have to be creative, collaborate with other people, take good photos for your blog and stay relevant to your audience. It is also very hard to make a living off of it and the only way you can get an income is by getting sponsors or collaborating with companies. In order to do that, you have to get your name out there.

While I started to take my blog more seriously, I also had to consider whether or not I wanted to pursue it as a full-time career. I took a few steps back and asked myself if it was something I wanted to do. While I love writing about my interests and blogging serves as an outlet, it’s not fun 100% of the time. I realized how much time I am actually spending on the computer and how I have been feeling out of the loop lately. Almost 80% of the time, I am on the computer either checking emails, writing blog posts for classes such as ours, looking at power point lectures, reading articles or on facebook and youtube. It’s crazy how much time I spend online and I am beginning to feel the effects. If you think about it, we’re essentially just staring into a screen. I can’t remember the last time I just went outside for a walk and took in my surroundings. My brain can’t handle too much technology at once. I need to balance it out with nature and real-life people. It’s amazing how much technology we actually use without even realizing it.

Leave a Reply

