Everyone is Skipping the Terms and Conditions

After reading, “Who Really Owns Your Photos on Social Media” I was surprised that companies wouldn’t do their homework and realize that just because a photo was posted on social media, it doesn’t mean that it’s a free-for-all. Before reading, I really did think that any photos posted on social media were fair game; but that’s me. It actually made me happy to see that social media users aren’t giving up all of their rights when they use the services. Lately it seems as if using social media is just handing over information to companies for free; but learning that social media users still “own” what they produce is great to hear. With recent stories about Google storing information, and the fact that Facebook sells its users’ information to advertisers has cast a grim light on the internet as a whole. But learning that there still are rules and restrictions on the limitless world wide web is a signal that not all hope should be lost. Learning that the companies who infringed were punished or at least are on their way to be punished is a step in the right direction. Many times in class we talk about how the internet should have “police” or monitors that look for foul play; whether it be cyber-bullying or infringement, and this is the first sign of these theoretical “police” we’ve discussed. In addition to showing that the internet is capable of having and enforcing rules, this article shows that common internet and social media users aren’t the only ones failing to read the terms and conditions of use. There are people out there being paid to check that it’s okay to post certain images, the article plainly outlines that the terms that were violated were in plain and simple terms. This shows that those who are guilty of infringement were just too lazy to do their research–there was no fancy jargon or terms to trip companies up. I’m not sure exactly how I feel about this lack of attention to details. It certainly doesn’t sit well with me, and makes me wonder how many other companies have stolen images and other information, but just haven’t been unlucky enough to get caught. I think that there’s a real future in researching this topic and tightening up enforcement on infringement cases. Overall, I was pleased with the things I learned in the article, and was overall surprised as to what it revealed about companies.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized on by .

About alistever

I'm currently a sophomore at Rutgers University looking to major in marketing. I'm on the field hockey team and spend a majority of my free time (when I'm not on the field or in the classroom) hanging out with my teammates. I love to online shop or more specifically browse and Pinterest is one of my favorite websites to visit.

Leave a Reply

