Photos on the internet

Before reading the article, “Who Really Owns Your Photos in Social Media”, I was extremely unsure of who did/did not have rights to my photos on social media.  And, even after reading the article I’m still a bit confused.  I understand that it is important to read all Terms of Conditions on the social media sites you use, however, some things are not quite specific.  I am not even sure if i would know if one of my photos was being taken and reused by someone else, unless it had something specific to me in it.  For instance, I take a lot of pictures of nature, there are plenty of other pictures that other people take that look like mine, and I honestly do not know if I would even realize.  Then, even if I did realize, I do not know what I would do to confirm this or how I would confirm that it was definitely “my” photo.

I know that I would not want someone taking personal photos of mine, but I don’t even know how I would know if they did such a thing, unless they reposted it and I somehow came across it.  Thinking about this is kind of scary, being that there are people with ill motives out there and who knows what someone like this could or would do with other peoples personal photos.  I know that this thought is a little bit far fetched, however, you never know if you could have a stalker or if you could have someone that is out to get you for whatever reason.

Also, how does one go about contacting someone who has taken and used their photo?  I am sure that people would get defensive or try to deny it, and how is one supposed to approach the other civilly and remain civil?  I really do not know how I would react if I noticed that my personal photos were being used elsewhere, without my approval.  If they were not actual photographs of myself or personal items/family members/etc.

I would have liked to share more of my thoughts about this in this post but wordpress.com is rather slow and it is extremely frustrating.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized on by .

About jscillitani

My name is Jenna. I am a student at Rutgers University. My major is Public Health, and I am in a BS/MPH Program for a Masters in Public Health with a concentration in Health Education and Behavioral Sciences. In my free time, I really enjoy working on DIY (Do-it Yourself) projects and crafting.

Leave a Reply

