“What Schools Don’t Teach” – Except Now They Do

I think the most shocking thing about this video was just the assumption that schools don’t teach coding. Maybe not all schools, but I’d have to guess that a large and growing percentage of schools offer computer science courses. I took computer science I my junior year and although I didn’t keep up with it, my high school offered computer science I, II, and AP.

Computer education isn’t just coding though, and my district’s curriculum reflected that. I remember in 6th grade dealing with the most horrid teacher ever for a typing class and having to listen to her gravelly voice dictate the letters we had to touch type. (Although being able to touch type properly has actually become an invaluable skill so thanks Mrs. T). I remember learning the ins and outs of the entire Microsoft work suite before graduating elementary school and I remember being forced to use “the latest in educational technology” all the time even if it was 100% simpler just to use Powerpoint than to teach everyone how to use Presi.

My point is that this video was published on February 26th, 2013 – that’s right, 2013 – and it fails to recognize all of the progress that the public education system has made in providing its students with a decent technological background.

As one of the women said in the video, “computers are everywhere … it’s just all over” and she’s right, it doesn’t matter what industry you go into, computers are going to be involved somewhere. So while yes kids are getting a very basic technological education, I do agree with the idea that we need to increase and encourage the spread of computer classes. Just as knowing Microsoft Word, Powerpoint, Excel, etc. are all givens in today’s working world, I definitely believe that being able to code will be a universal skill in the coming decades.

Leave a Reply

