So I was actually inspired to give the whole coding thing a try….

Why? I don’t know. I like computers. I like using computers. I like finding new ways to use computers. I have a bit of an obsessive personality. It’s difficult for something to grab my attention, but once it has it, I could spend hours and hours on it with very little break, no Adderall needed (just lots of alcohol and cocaine).

(that was a joke, I am not really into cocaine)

So why not add another object of obsession?

Unfortunately, I’ve always been more of an English-person (hence the whole English-major thing). I mean, I always liked the theory behind math. Calculus and Physics were fucking awesome…except for that part where you wanted me to actually solve the problem. I mean, I was never going to need to use mathematics to that extent, so it never really felt like something I wanted to learn. Math is a wonderful thing, but seriously, I just wanted to know how it works, nothing more. In fact, I actually got through high-school Physics with most of my math being wrong, because my diagrams of the word problems were really well-setup and looked great (putting those countless hours wasted on the crushed childhood dream of being an artist to good use!).

That’s kind of how I look at it. I just needed to know about how stuff works in theory, not actually work it out myself.

law of refraction

No, I believe you, light refracts, that’s pretty awesome. I don’t have to do the math. I’ll take your word for it.

But I decided to try coding anyways.

(I have more free-time than I’d like to admit)

How did it go?

Pretty well actually. I finished the first set for the Java lessons. It was nowhere near as complicated as I thought it would be. The instructions were pretty clear and intuitive for the most part (I was using http://www.codecademy.com BTW). I still don’t feel like I could code a straight line (is that even the right way to word it?) and I’m still pretty iffy on the details on just how I’m supposed to use everything to actually work with…things.

I’m lost basically.

But it’s a nice type of lost. Not like being dumped in the middle of the Sahara desert, but like being dumped in the middle of a huge city you’ve never been in before. You don’t speak the language and you don’t know where anything is. But you reach into your pocket and find your smartphone and some money, and you know that you can make it out somehow, and heck, you might find some cool things to do on the way.

I’ll get started on that second lesson eventually. Eventually.

-Miguel Flores

PS. I realized that the entire thing about math and physics was completely irrelevant to the rest of the post, but I decided to keep it because I already wrote it.

 

 

2 thoughts on “So I was actually inspired to give the whole coding thing a try….

  1. maryellencags

    I can really relate to this. As a fellow writer/ math idiot, I have always thought these things were pretty awesome, but alas, numbers confuse me. Some people are meant to be physicists, and some aren’t.

    Reply
  2. juliamoore3

    I think that is so awesome that you took on the challenge to learn how to code. The video was very persuasive, and I too, also considered attempting it. But to be honest, I don’t really know what coding is… and I don’t even know what I would start… maybe in the future I will take another technology class and learn how to code, but I’ll cross that bridge when I get there. Don’t give up with the coding, you should give yourself a lot of credit for trying something new!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

