Don’t Miss The Moment

I found this quote on tumblr and thought it would be perfect to share.

“We can’t jump off bridges anymore because our iPhones will get ruined. We can’t take skinny dips in the ocean, because there’s no service on the beach and adventures aren’t real unless they’re on Instagram. Technology has doomed the spontaneity of adventure and we’re helping destroy it every time we Google, check-in, and hashtag.” – (via alee2691)

This quote is 100% true. I can’t even begin to count the number of times that I have witnessed (or even done myself) people pulling out their phones as a natural reaction to something instead of just taking it all in. People spend more time documenting and sharing moments instead of experiencing them.

Quick story time: I went to a Beyonce concert earlier this summer and because it was my first ever concert I was so determined to document and record this amazing experience. I wanted to make sure that I would never forget it and yet I was missing what was happening right in front of me. It wasn’t until my phone died a little less than halfway in that I realized just how much I’d been held back from the full experience by my phone. After it died, I stopped trying to document it and instead got completely immersed in the Beyonce experience. I danced with one of my best friend and some new friends from the row in front of us, literally cried with Beyonce as she sang Halo atop a grand piano in a purple jumpsuit, and “twerked” my ass off with thousands of other Beyonce fans. I’m almost positive that I wouldn’t have any of those memories if my phone hadn’t of died. Sure I missed out on tons of pictures, vines, instagrams, and twitter updates but I am completely content with the tradeoff being life long memories.

So while sharing your memories, photos, statuses, and videos is nice, just make sure that you’re not too engrossed in technology that you forgot to experience the actual event itself.

3 thoughts on “Don’t Miss The Moment

  1. miguelalex888

    I liked this post, I think there is a weird obsession with recording our experiences rather than being a part of them. A few pictures and short videos are fine for the sake of having something that you can look back on and show other people, but the main part of the experience should always be the experience itself.
    There is difference between being someone who recorded a concert and someone who actually went to enjoy the concert for its own sake.

    Reply
  2. quinncmckay

    While things like the perfect tweet, picture, caption, and vine video are satisfying in their own way; don’t like we all love to see how many likes and retweets we get, nothing can compare to the actual experience. I think everyone has their own boundaries of when and where to use their cellphone to capture a moment, but those boundaries are getting smaller. The other night I went out to dinner with some of my friends and my phone died, as we waited for the food they mentioned certain tweets and instagram pictures and I felt so disconnected from the digital world. If they hadn’t brought out their phones I don’t think I would have noticed that I didn’t bring mine, but it was the fact that I was the only one disconnected. Capturing a moment or image depends on the context, if everyone else is tweeting, instagramming, or facebooking something then go ahead and capture that moment; but if those around you are purely enjoying a moment don’t ruin it with technology.

    Reply
  3. Sarah Jaihe Lee

    I came across that quote a while back and it was a real eye-opener! I love this post and you bring up such good points. Every time I am out at a restaurant and my food comes out, I immediately take my phone out and instagram it. Next thing you know, I’m checking how many likes I have and my food is getting cold. *sigh*

    Reply

Leave a Reply

