AGFAF

I know this may not connect directly to our class, but technology allows us to accomplish so much and I can’t help but post the link to the fundraiser my sister and I are doing right now. Without websites such as Crown Rise we would never have been able to raise this much money in only a week, and to continue to reach out to others through Facebook and Twitter to spread the word about AGFAF- The Afghan Girls Financial Assistance Fun. This organization is struggling financially and we are doing everything a broke college kid can do to support something they love, donate their birthday to the cause. AGFAF is the foundation that started with my adopted sister Shamila Kohestani….

and now has 25 girls in the program who come from Afghanistan to receive a higher education. The foundation didn’t only allow Shamila to become educated, but it allowed her to educate me as well. Shamila and my second Afghan sister Nahid have changed my life and taught me about their culture and given me a different perspective on life. They are my role models because they have endured so much, living through Taliban rule, and remain so positive and determined to make a difference. Please if you cannot donate just read their story and spread the word. They are truly an inspiration

 

P.S she also won the Arthur Ashe Courage award for being the first captain of the Afghan Womans National Soccer team.

http://www.crowdrise.com/agfaf/fundraiser/taylormckay

http://www.agfaf.org/

Leave a Reply

