100 Things Every 20 yr. Old Needs To Realize (?)

In a recent article titled “The 100 Things Every 20-Something Needs To Realize,” the author mentions that facebook is boring and a waste of time. I cannot completely agree with this person. While facebook can get boring if nothing interesting pops up, I don’t think it’s fair to categorize it as that. I come across great articles, interesting news and great things that happen to my “friends.” Whether it be a silly buzzfeed article or a s’mores cookie recipe, I always find something worth reading and bookmarking. I think as we get older, facebook may seem less appealing because we’ve come to the realization that there’s more to life than just facebook statuses and ‘likes’ on our profile pictures. However, I don’t think facebook necessarily feels boring. I go on facebook when I am bored.

4 thoughts on “100 Things Every 20 yr. Old Needs To Realize (?)

  1. angiewishes

    I completely agree with that there is a common misconception of our generation’s relationship with Facebook. I’m usually on Facebook on my phone during bus rides or walks to class to catch up on notifications. When I get back home, I give my News Feed a quick scroll to see what’s up with my friends, classmates, coworkers, etc. The amount of time I spend on the computer on Facebook is probably 30 minutes maximum. There’s this belief that our generation lives on Facebook and Twitter and that our lives are consumed by this, but it really isn’t and it’s a great way to keep connected with the people in my life. And hey, who doesn’t like to feel appreciated and get ‘likes’ on their photos? It makes people of all ages feel good about themselves.

    Reply
  2. joellerae

    I also agree that there is always a common misunderstanding with facebook. Most people believe it is just a way to occupy yourself (which sometimes it is), but a major purpose of the site is to keep people connected. If it weren’t for Facebook, it would be really difficult to keep tabs on family member or friends who live out of the country. So, in that sense, I believe that Facebook is definitely not a waste of time.

    Reply
  3. maryellencags

    Facebook is not completely devoid of value, but I can’t honestly say that it’s one of my favorite tools available through the Internet. Rather than focusing on communication and spreading ideas, Facebook tends to be about amassing the most “friends” and cultivating your image, and for these reasons I find it somewhat narcissistic. However, there are many who use Facebook to do wonderful things, and that too must be acknowledged.

    Reply
  4. kristinalisa08

    I totally agree with what you are saying. A lot of people think Facebook is boring at one point, including myself. However, I tend to find myself on it all the time!!!! I think overall its a great way to stay in touch with family and friends and it is just something interesting. You definitely read some interesting things and I don’t think its completely useless.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

