Technology and Running

As a distance runner, it occurred to the me other day, how did people ever run without technology?  Sure you can still go out for the classic de-stress run, but when it comes to training for big events it can be a very technical process.  From watches that track your heart rate, distance, speed, and previous workouts to aps for your phone that do similar things, or even the Nike+ invention of a few years ago, we have revolutionized running and our ability to train.  Do you think this is helpful? Or did it just turn the simple act of running into an over technical nightmare? Personally, I love utilizing it. I think it is great to be able to just throw on a watch and go out for run whether it be a light jog or a hard train and always being able to check out my performance.

Aside from all the devices out there, think about all the people you know who can’t go running without music.  I know many runners have multiple playlists for every type of training run out there.  Some runners propose that running with music [outside] is a dangerous habit to get into, especially with noise canceling earbuds while others swear by that “zone out” they need during a run. It seems to me, a lot more thought goes into the idea of going out for a run than ever before.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized on by .

About mlkutch

I am currently a student at Mason Gross School of the Arts at Rutgers University studying costume design. In my spare time I love running, lifting, crossfit, riding horses, traveling with my boyfriend, and listening to Bruce Springsteen. I currently live in New Brunswick, but permanently reside just outside of Philadelphia.

4 thoughts on “Technology and Running

  1. alistever

    I think that if these technologies are utilized properly, they can definitely enhance any performance, not just running. I’m on the field hockey team and we usually use heart rate monitors during training and games to track multiple things. I think its great that technology is being used to help us improve ourselves physically–these heart rate monitors can give signals as to when you’re overtraining or not pushing yourself enough. The only problem with these technologies is that in order to get the most out of them, it usually involves some type of “training” whereas I think a lot of people today buy the technology just to look cool, or use only one function of the device.

    Reply
  2. miguelalex888

    I think this is a good example of technology in our lives that you brought up here. Usually when we think of modern technology in this class, we think social media, cell phones, etc. You wouldn’t think of something like distance running at all.
    But perhaps this is an area where technology meshed really well with real life, where it is enhancing the experience rather than eclipsing it.

    Reply
  3. quinncmckay

    This was an interesting post. As a runner I think that the art of distance running cannot be changed by technology, but technology can enhance the experience. Going on a long run on a grass field with no shoes is the simplicity of the sport that makes it so enticing, but the right spikes, music, stop watch etc. can enhance the runners performance and experience of running. Technology allows us to reach our full athletic potential in the sport of running, but it cannot alter the foundation of the sport such as the classic de-stressing run.

    Reply
  4. Sarah Jaihe Lee

    I think technology does benefit a runner because it gives them useful data that could help them improve and get better. It isn’t like they are relying on it or getting a superficial boost to run an extra mile. Personally, I can run without music because I find that music can get a little annoying if I’m already really stressed. However, it is very rare that I go to the gym without my phone so that I can listen to music.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

